Master Gladiator chapters 7-8

chapter 7
“Who is there?”Marcus asked. He couldn’t think anyone who might be knocking his door right now. “Is it you, Lepidus?” 
The door pushed open and there was his elder brother from war. He came back, Marcus thought happily, my brother is still alive! Only Dad left to come back home, he thought. He ran to his brother and hugged his tightly. “I am glad you are back, Lucius. So glad.”Marcus said softly.
His brother smiled too, “Nice to see you again, Marcus.” Marcus let go of his brother. He looked the same, brown hair, dark blue watery eyes looking at him, he looked stronger and taller, except there was a long scar on his arm. “What happened?”Marcus asked touching him brother’s scar carefully. 
“Just a sword cut. Nothing really.”Lucius said shaking his head, “looking forward to join the army?”
“No way.”Marcus punched his brother’s arm, “you are kidding right?”
“Knew it, I know your dream is to become a gladiator. You won’t miss that great chance to be one.”Lucius laughed. 
He smiled, finally there is someone who really knows me, he thought. 
“Can you run with me tomorrow in the farm?”Marcus asked loudly enough to let his mum in the kitchen hear and whispered, “Also come and watch Lepidus’s gladiators train?”
 
“Of course, why not?”Lucius looked at his younger brother. “Where is mum? I brought something for her, it is a present from the army.”Lucius asked worried.
“In the kitchen.”Marcus said dully. Even though he wanted to know what present, but it is something to do with his crazy mother. He gave up asking.

chapter 8
The next day came, just as usual, Marcus’s mom told him to run around the farm again, but with his brother. Marcus was actually glad about training today because his brother was running with him and as exciting as ever he was going to watch the gladiators training again with his brother. 
After the running, they went straight to Lepidus’s farm. Marcus was sweating again but Lucius wasn’t. “Why aren’t you tired and sweaty?”Marcus asked tiring.
“A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon.”said Lucius proudly, “I am well trained.”
“Fine, you can just say you are not tired next time. The proverb is too long for me.”Marcus said and pointed to the teenager standing at the entrance, “Look, Lucius. That is Lepidus, he has awesome gladiators. I will be one of them.”  

Lepidus waved at them and looked at Lucius curiously.
“Hi, good morning Marcus. How are you today? And who is this?”Lepidus was looking at Lucius carefully, looked at him from face to toe, “And he looks like you Marcus!”
“Lepidus this is Lucius, my elder brother who joined the army and quit because of his injury. Lucius this is Lepidus, my best friend and I hope I will be his own gladiator.”Marcus introduced both of them to each other.  
Three of them walked to the watching stand and looked down at the gladiators. “Cool! Lepidus, are they all yours?”Marcus asked pointing the gladiators.

“Not really, it was my elder brother’s. But he left yesterday to join the army again, because there will be a dangerous war in 2 years I think.”Lepidus said shaking his head and said again sadly, “I think my dad will have to force the gladiators to join the army, that is why they are training to hard.”

“I am very sorry Lepidus. But you have to understand the country is more important.”Lucius said. Lepidus nodded his head and went to one of the gladiator. 
“Marcus! Do you want to be one of the squad?”Lepidus shouted as loud as he could to Marcus. 
“Now?”answered the short boy on the stand, “Ok I will join them.”

“No, you can’t.”Lucius shouted furiously and stood in front of Marcus trying to block him to walk to Lepidus, “No way! Mom is still waiting. What am I suppose to say when I am home. Lost you while running? You were kidnapped? Think straight Marcus!”
“I am thinking straight! Lucius, Mom is mad at me. She will be glad if you lost me.”Marcus pushed his brother away and started to run to Lepidus before Lucius could get him again.
“Well, it is you decision. If you chose to be a slave you will be one, but never come back home!”Lucius commended Marcus like a officer.
 

chapter 7
“Who is there?”Marcus asked. He couldn’t think anyone who might be knocking his door right now. “Is it you, Lepidus?” 
The door pushed open and there was his elder brother from war. He came back, Marcus thought happily, my brother is still alive! Only Dad left to come back home, he thought. He ran to his brother and hugged his tightly. “I am glad you are back, Lucius. So glad.”Marcus said softly.
His brother smiled too, “Nice to see you again, Marcus.” Marcus let go of his brother. He looked the same, brown hair, dark blue watery eyes looking at him, he looked stronger and taller, except there was a long scar on his arm. “What happened?”Marcus asked touching him brother’s scar carefully. 
“Just a sword cut. Nothing really.”Lucius said shaking his head, “looking forward to join the army?”
“No way.”Marcus punched his brother’s arm, “you are kidding right?”
“Knew it, I know your dream is to become a gladiator. You won’t miss that great chance to be one.”Lucius laughed. 
He smiled, finally there is someone who really knows me, he thought. 
“Can you run with me tomorrow in the farm?”Marcus asked loudly enough to let his mum in the kitchen hear and whispered, “Also come and watch Lepidus’s gladiators train?”
 
“Of course, why not?”Lucius looked at his younger brother. “Where is mum? I brought something for her, it is a present from the army.”Lucius asked worried.
“In the kitchen.”Marcus said dully. Even though he wanted to know what present, but it is something to do with his crazy mother. He gave up asking.

chapter 8
The next day came, just as usual, Marcus’s mom told him to run around the farm again, but with his brother. Marcus was actually glad about training today because his brother was running with him and as exciting as ever he was going to watch the gladiators training again with his brother. 
After the running, they went straight to Lepidus’s farm. Marcus was sweating again but Lucius wasn’t. “Why aren’t you tired and sweaty?”Marcus asked tiring.
“A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon.”said Lucius proudly, “I am well trained.”
“Fine, you can just say you are not tired next time. The proverb is too long for me.”Marcus said and pointed to the teenager standing at the entrance, “Look, Lucius. That is Lepidus, he has awesome gladiators. I will be one of them.”  

Lepidus waved at them and looked at Lucius curiously.
“Hi, good morning Marcus. How are you today? And who is this?”Lepidus was looking at Lucius carefully, looked at him from face to toe, “And he looks like you Marcus!”
“Lepidus this is Lucius, my elder brother who joined the army and quit because of his injury. Lucius this is Lepidus, my best friend and I hope I will be his own gladiator.”Marcus introduced both of them to each other.  
Three of them walked to the watching stand and looked down at the gladiators. “Cool! Lepidus, are they all yours?”Marcus asked pointing the gladiators.

“Not really, it was my elder brother’s. But he left yesterday to join the army again, because there will be a dangerous war in 2 years I think.”Lepidus said shaking his head and said again sadly, “I think my dad will have to force the gladiators to join the army, that is why they are training to hard.”

“I am very sorry Lepidus. But you have to understand the country is more important.”Lucius said. Lepidus nodded his head and went to one of the gladiator. 
“Marcus! Do you want to be one of the squad?”Lepidus shouted as loud as he could to Marcus. 
“Now?”answered the short boy on the stand, “Ok I will join them.”

“No, you can’t.”Lucius shouted furiously and stood in front of Marcus trying to block him to walk to Lepidus, “No way! Mom is still waiting. What am I suppose to say when I am home. Lost you while running? You were kidnapped? Think straight Marcus!”
“I am thinking straight! Lucius, Mom is mad at me. She will be glad if you lost me.”Marcus pushed his brother away and started to run to Lepidus before Lucius could get him again.
“Well, it is you decision. If you chose to be a slave you will be one, but never come back home!”Lucius commended Marcus like a officer.
 

Leave a Reply

